Programs

I develop programs for children at my local public library, in addition to making collection maintenance decisions. In these programs I choose a story to share, make a snack for the kids, provide crafts for them to create, and develop games which thematically tie in to the story.  I also try to emulate Ms. Frizzle by dressing up accordingly. The kids like to guess the theme of the storytime by evaluating my apparel, so in addition to boosting enthusiasm, it helps children to evaluate clues and make predictions.

 

One of my favorite storytimes we have done recently was Secret Pizza Party. After reading the story, the children investigated a “crime scene” where a pizza had been stolen. The children received detective kits with magnifying glasses, a paw print guide, a cipher, and some clues. They then followed these clues around the library to discover the pizza pilferer.

I have a pretty large puppet and stuffed animal collection which I like to incorporate into programs.

 

IMG_1477

I have found that programs like these really help children to recognize the value in books and stories, and to be motivated to use stories and themes in interactive play, and to use them as learning tools through creative processes.

Leave a comment